Select Page

About Me

My Story

Hey I’m Hannah, but you can call me Hags. I was born in Maryland and raised in the DC area for the first seven years of my life. I then spent five years living in Geneva, Switzerland which inspired my love for travel and snowboarding. I moved back to the DC area after living in Switzerland and graduated from John F. Kennedy high school. I went on to study at University of Maryland, where I graduated with a B.S. in Astronomy and Applied Mathematics in 2017.

My love for astronomy landed me an internship at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama studying meteors. During the 8 months that I spent in Alabama, I went hiking or camping almost every weekend with my friends from my internship. 

My love for mathematics landed me an internship at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, a Department of Energy Lab near Knoxville, Tennessee. After my NASA internship ended, I spent the summer of 2018 studying the nonlinear dynamics of chaotic motion at ORNL. I spent my free time enjoying the outdoors: running, hiking in the Smokies, and hanging out in pool floaties at the quarry. 

I moved to Madison, Wisconsin on March 1 2019. I am not a big fan of the cold, so initially I was nervous to live somewhere as far north as Wisconsin. Since moving here, I’ve found many activities that I enjoy and I’ve met some great friends to share in my experiences. I created this website to showcase all of the things that I do here in Madison that make me happy. 

 

My Interests

  • Hiking
  • Running
  • Backpacking
  • Biking
  • Bouldering
  • Camping
  • Kayaking
  • Swimming
  • Traveling
  • Cooking
  • Baking
  • Gardening
  • Snowboarding
  • Photography
  • Postprocessing
  • Sunrises and Sunsets
  • Memes

My Projects

Check out my Instagram page dedicated to my sunrise and sunset photography and timelapses!

I love cooking with fresh, local produce. Check out my recipe page for inspiration next time you make a trip to the farmer’s market!

*Full recipe page is under construction, in the meantime enjoy my recipe for the side dish I brought to Thanksgiving this year

Take a look at my projects page

Contact Me

Email: hannahofthenorth@gmail.com

Instagram: icebergespionage